Within digital culture I have researched and talked about a debate that has been one of the main topics for parents children and the media. This topic is video games and do they have a negative effect to the player and people around them after doing research on this subject I constructed a power point that I presented to the class to show them two sides of the story and how many people may think that video games lead to negative behavior this can be physical, verbal and cyber. Video games have been played for years, they where first created in the 1950s one of the first games created was called “two for tennis” this game features two still lines and a simulation of a ball. This game began not only the start of competitive play within this entertainment sector, but also obtained a new audience “gamers”.

Within the digital sector unit I have used primary and secondary research to obtain a general understanding of the public and how they feel on the subject. To construct the secondary research I used websites, books and searched for old newspapers for the information I needed.

The BBC website and other reliable sources gave me an in-site to many stories over the years that contained not only the facts, but opinions given by people involved. A very interesting story, which was displayed on the BBC website and shown on the front page was about a young 17 year old boy named Warren Leblanc who repeatedly stabbed and battered his friend Stefan Pakeerah him with a claw hammer after playing the game manhunt. The article displayed events before and after the trial was concluded saying that Warren was obsessed with the game and that after that trial had finished Stefans mother attempted to ban violent video games.

While presenting my findings and the research I had conducted I created a small task this would be using primary research that I held within the class. The idea was to show my audience how easy it can be to get frustrated or angry within a matter of seconds. The task was simple, but effective as I gained a huge amount of feedback that will allow me to come up with a general conclusion.

Games have objectives that the player must complete and when a player completes this they are granted with a reward for example a specific item, power up, extra content, etc. Due to the reward system within games it has made other players determined to also be granted rewards therefore giving them a goal they must complete. If repeatedly failing at a task the majority of people can become frustrated I converted this theory into the task I constructed and tested within the class.

The Task consisted of me throwing a ball to at an audience member this would act as the user journey, then if they managed to catch the ball it would act as them completing an objective afterword’s I rewarded them with chocolate this would be similar to them obtaining a reward in a game. The catch was that I only through the ball to a small number of the class making the other people slightly jealous then I asked the other people how they were feeling sand they all agreed that they wanted a reward as well and if they continued to miss their chance they would become frustrated similar to people when playing games there was no physical anger, but that’s because the task was set within an controlled environment.

After completing the task I combined the previous research on the man hunt murder and compared it to the task I created and experimented with in class it wasn’t on the same scale and the intensity wasn’t as extreme but the outcome still showed me that people to get frustrated and could possibly take their feelings out in a physical manner. After working on different units I have used primary and secondary research to obtain the information I needed.

BBC NEWS. 2016. BBC NEWS | England | Leicestershire | Manhunt game withdrawn by stores . [ONLINE] Available at: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/leicestershire/3936597.stm. [Accessed 01 May 2016].

Wikipedia. 2016. Bobo doll experiment – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. [ONLINE] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bobo_doll_experiment. [Accessed 02 May 2016].

Bobo Doll Experiment | Simply Psychology. 2016. Bobo Doll Experiment | Simply Psychology. [ONLINE] Available at: http://www.simplypsychology.org/bobo-doll.html. [Accessed 02 May 2016].

Bobo Doll Experiment – Learning From Role Models. 2016. Bobo Doll Experiment – Learning From Role Models. [ONLINE] Available at: https://explorable.com/bobo-doll-experiment. [Accessed 02 May 2016].

Wikipedia. 2016. Hypodermic needle model – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia. [ONLINE] Available at: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hypodermic_needle_model. [Accessed 03 May 2016].

BBC NEWS. 2016. BBC NEWS | UK | Caution call on video game storm . [ONLINE] Available at: http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/uk/3936237.stm. [Accessed 04 May 2016].

